About Us » History

History

Owens Intermediate has had a unique journey as an educational institution. The first formation of the school was in 1950 under the name Potomac School. In 1971, the school changed its name to Bessie Owens School. That school then split into two different schools in 1999 – Owens Primary (K-3) and Owens Intermediate (4th-6th). The schools are named for Bessie Owens, a long-tenured and well respected educator, who taught at the elementary level for nearly 50 years. The staff and administration at each Owens campus puts forth maximum effort each day to provide the best education possible for every student.
 
Potomac school in the 1960’s
 
 
Owens School, 1970’s

 
 
Owens Elementary class photo, 1975

 
 
Owens Intermediate, 2016